Driver Education

General Information

Since the 2002-2003 school year, Saline Community Education has been coordinating the Driver Education program for Saline Area Schools. Both the Segment 1 and Segment 2 classes are offered during the entire year.  We offer convenient class times and location; right at Saline High School.  Your student will find that our instructors are knowledgeable, friendly and professional.  We encourage you to compare prices, our rates are very competitive, no additional fees.  For more information or to register, please call (734) 401-4020.  

   SEGMENT 1


Guidelines and Requirements:

  • Students must be 14 years and 8 months old before the first day of class.
  • In addition to normal classroom lecture and discussion, weekly written assignments and quizzes will be given evaluating each student's progress. A certificate of completion will be given at the end of the course.
  • Actual on-road driving time will consist of six hours in order to meet the state certification guidelines.
  • Attendance: State law requires 24 hours of classroom instruction and 6 hours of behind-the-wheel instruction.  Anything less than 24 hours will result in the student being dropped from the program and the student will need to re-register for another class.
  • Due to the pandemic, it is required by the State of Michigan that the class size does not exceed 20 students.

Class Information 

Class Code

Dates Days of Week Time Location Fee

   7001-SU21JunA*

   June 14 - June 30    Monday - Friday    8:00 AM - 10:00 AM    HS Room C103    $335.00

   7001-SU21JunB*

   June 14 - June 30    Monday - Friday    10:30 AM - 12:30 PM    HS Room C103    $335.00

   7001-SU21JulA*

   July 12 - July 28    Monday - Friday    8:00 AM - 10:00 AM    HS Room C103    $335.00

   7001-SU21JulB*

   July 12 - July 28    Monday - Friday    10:30 AM - 12:30 PM    HS Room C103    $335.00

*WAITLIST (PLEASE NOTE - WAITLIST POSITIONS DO NOT TRANSFER FROM ONE SESSION TO ANOTHER. IF INTERESTED IN A SESSION, PLEASE REGISTER FOR THAT SESSION SEPARATELY).

PARENT MEETINGS:  
June A & B:  June 15, 6:30 PM, High School Media Center
July A & B :  July 13, 6:30 PM, High School Media Center


​​
   SEGMENT 2


Guidelines and Requirements:

  • It is recommended that the student is 15 years and 9 months old before the first day of class.
  • Students must have completed Segment 1 and received a Validated Green Certificate. 
  • Students must obtain a Level 1 Learners License at the Secretary of State prior to taking Segment 2.
  • Students must hold a Level 1 Learners License for 90 days prior to the first day of class.
  • Students must have completed a total of 30 hours of driving time with a parent/guardian prior to the first day of class.
  • Students must provide their Level 1 Learners License number at the time of registration.
  • Due to the pandemic, it is required by the State of Michigan that the class size does not exceed 20 students.

Class Information:

Class Code

Dates

Days of Week

Time

Location

Fee

  7002-SU21Jun   June 15, 16, 17   Tues, Wed, Thu   8:00 - 10:00 AM   HS Room C227

  $65.00

  7002-SU21Jul   July 13, 14, 15   Tues, Wed, Thu   8:00 - 10:00 AM   HS Room C227

  $65.00

  7002-SU21Aug

  Aug 3, 4, 5   Tues, Wed, Thu   8:00 - 10:00 AM   HS Room C227   $65.00

*WAITLIST (PLEASE NOTE - WAITLIST POSITIONS DO NOT TRANSFER FROM ONE SESSION TO ANOTHER. IF INTERESTED IN A SESSION, PLEASE REGISTER FOR THAT SESSION SEPARATELY).

Teens holding a Level 1
GDL also will need to present the driving log prior to taking a driving skills test.  The examiner will confirm that the driving log shows the teen completed at least 50 hours of driving (including 10 hours of nighttime driving) before attempting the driving skills test.

MESSAGE FROM THE STATE OF MICHIGAN

Teens will be required to present a log documenting their supervised practice driving prior to beginning a Segment 2 class.  The driving log must show that the student completed at least 30 hours of driving (including 2 hours of nighttime driving).

REPLACEMENT CERTIFICATES OF COMPLETION

Replacement Certificate of Completions are available by calling the Community Education office.  Please allow at least 24 hours processing time for the replacement certificate to be issued.  There will be a fee* of $10.00 each for replacement Certificates of Completion for Segment 1.

*Fee subject to change.